Select Your School

 

 

 

The Parent Responsibilty Course seminar is free to parents or legal guardians to attend.

 

 

Academics of Driving Adult Driving Classes Academics of Driving Teen Driving Classes Academics of Driving Adult BTW Classes

OUR SERVICES & PRICING

From behind-the-wheel driving sessions to car crash avoidance courses, Academics of Driving has all the drivers education courses to make you an excellent driver.

 

The student Must present the High School Enrollment Form at the DMV.

 

State Approved 38 Hour Course  |  $420

The course consists of 30 hours of class instruction and 8 hours of behind the wheel training. The student receives one-on-one behind the wheel training with a state certified instructor. The course is required for 15, 16, and 17 year olds and meets the requirements of the State of Louisiana. According to state law, in order to receive credit, students must be at least 14 years and 9 months and in the 8th grade to begin the 30-hour classroom portion.

We now give the DMV written test in the 38 hour course, please go onto the DMV website and download and study thier driver's guide in preparation for the DMV written test.

A $100.00 deposit is required to reserve their spot for the 38 hour course. Please note  when you register, if you DO NOT put your required down payment, your registration will be deleted from our system within SEVEN (7) days of your initial registration. You must return to your account with your payment to secure your seat. We can only accommodate those students in our driving school who have secured their seat properly with the required down payment. Once our class is filled with secured students, we may not be able to accommodate your attendance in that particular class and you will need to choose another start date.

 We require a minimum of 4 students registered for this course to be held. 

Register for this course now.

 

THIRD PARTY TESTING  |  $100

ROAD SKILLS TEST ONLY!

ACADEMICS OF DRIVING LLC. is licensed by Louisiana Department of Public Safety, Office of Motor Vehicles to conduct 3rd -Party Road Skill test for Class D & E type license. The fee includes using our driver education vehicle on our state approved route and the fee approved by state for road skills.

A passing score of 80% before the applicant can earn the certificate of completion for a road skills test.

Automatic Failures Include:

  • Run a red light
  • Incomplete stop at stop sign
  • Cause an accident that is your fault
  • Cause an incident
  • Refusing to obey instructions
  • Speeding
  • The instructor having to use the "dual brake" during the test

REQUIREMENTS:

AGE 16:                               

  • Must have had your LP for at least 5 months before road testing with us. Then you must wait until the 6 months are complete before upgrading the permit to a provisional license at the DMV
  • Must present applicant state birth certificate and learner's permit.
  • Parent on birth certificate must be present and with their ID.
  • Parent must sign affidavit at the DMV, Stating the teen applicant completed 50 hours on the road training (15 of which were at night) with a 21 years old or older licensed person.
  • Must present High School Enrollment Form at the DMV.

AGE 17 :

  • May take immediately after completing a driver education course, present driving school certificate to us.
  • Must present applicant's state birth certificate
  • Parent on birth certificate must be present and have their identification
  • Must have High School Enrollment form or diploma.

AGE 18 & UP:

  • May take immediately after completing required driver training course, present driving school certificate to us.
  • Present State Approved Identifiation

* This test does require you to be on time for your scheduled appointment; please be on time.  Arriving late will require us to cancel the appointment, there are no refunds. ARRIVE EARLY.

* Please note, our DMV Road Test is only allowed in our ACADEMICS OF DRIVING vehicle; we do not test in someone's personal vehicle.

* Please meet at ACADEMICS OF DRIVING LLC. to start your Road Test; we do not pick up.

* No need to worry about vehicle deficiencies, lack of insurance, etc. 

* Our vehicle comes equipped with the required safety precautions including dual brake for everyone's safety! 

* We do not administer the road skills test in an applicant's own vehicle.

* The Road Skills Test cannot administer students that are physically and/or mentally handicapped, these individuals must go to the DMV.

*Wear proper shoes for scheduled drive. No flip-flops, Crocs, beach style shoes allowed. Stable shoes only.

* The Road Skills Test Fee is non-refundable.

Please call for available dates and times.

PRICING:

* We do not administer the road skills test in an applicant's own vehicle.

$30.00 To Administer the Test

$70.00 For Use of  ACADEMICS OF DRIVING LLC. Vehicle

Total $100.00

* The Road Skills Test Fee is non-refundable.
* This test does require you to be on time for your scheduled appointment; please be on time.  Arriving late will require us to cancel the appointment, there are no refunds. ARRIVE EARLY.

Please call for available dates and times.

We are currently offering the road skills testing only at our Covington loocation!!!

Register for this course now.

 

Additional or Private Behind the Wheel Lessons  |  $100

Do you need some superivsed practice with an instructor well look no further with a 2 hour private lesson. $100 per 2 hour lesson. 2-hour minimum.

Wear proper shoes for scheduled drive. No flip-flops, Crocs or beach style shoes allowed. Stable shoes only.

Register for this course now.

 

State Approved 14 Hour Course  |  $320.00

The course consists of 6 hours of class instruction and 8 hours one-on-one behind the wheel training with a state certified instructor. The course is required for 18 years of age and older to meet the requirements of the State of Louisiana. The student must be at least 18 year of age to receive credit for this course.

 

We now give the DMV written test in the 14 hour course, please go onto the DMV website and download and study their driver's guide in preparation for the DMV written test.

Please call for available dates and times for adult training.

Effective January 1, 2017

8 Hour Behind the Wheel Training  |  $320

This course consists of 8 hours behind the wheel training. It is designed students that wish to do private lessons and further thier driving skills to the next level! 

It is also designed for the student that has completed 30 hours of classroom instruction with another certified driving school and/or for the student that is 18 years of age or older that has completed the classroom portion of the 14-hour driving course with another driving school.

An original copy of the students 30 or 6-hour certificate is required before driving can begin.

The minimum age requirement for behind the wheel training is 15 years of age.

Please call for available dates and times.


Defensive Driving/Court Mandated Course  |  $75

This course includes defensive driving strategies, and is attended to satisfy court requirements such as traffic tickets and DWI laws, as well as to lower your insurance premiums. The court mandated/defensive course covers DWI/DUI satisfactions. 

Please call for available dates and times.

Effective January 1, 2017