Academics of Driving Teen Drivers Education Academics of Driving BTW Drivers Education Academics of Driving Adult Drivers Education

DRIVING SCHOOL RULES & REGULATIONS

Driving School Requirements

For retention purposes our driving school recommends students be 15 years of age or older when beginning the classroom portion of drivers education.  They must be at least in the 8th grade to start the classroom portion. A student may attend class as early as 14 years and 9 months of age with administrative permission. With the new Louisiana laws, students must hold their learner's permit for a minimum of 180 days (6 months).

Louisiana Learner's Permit Requirements

  1. Complete an approved 38 hour driver education course.
  2. Pass visual exam (20/40 or better without corrective lenses).
  3. Pass Louisiana knowledge, signs, and signals test (80% required to pass).
  4. Must present High School Enrollment Form at the DMV.

Louisiana Learner's Permit Restrictions

  1. Must drive with a licensed 21 year old or licensed 18 year old sibling. Training with a licensed sibling under the age of 21 may not count toward the 50 hours of training.
  2. Must maintain learner permit for a minimum of 180 days (6 months) prior to being converted to an intermediate license.

Louisiana Intermediate License Requirements

  1. Be 16 years old to apply.
  2. Hold an learner permit for a minimum of 180 days (6 months).
  3. Have a parent-signed affidavit confirming the applicant has practiced at least 50 hours with a licensed driver, 15 hours of which must be at night.
  4. Pass an on-road driving test provided by a 3rd part-tester or the State Office of Motor Vehicles.
  5. Must present High School Enrollment Form at the DMV.

 EFFECTIVE NOVEMBER 1ST, 2014.

The Office of Motor Vehicles will not administer the road skills test, the student will need to go to a third party tester to take the road skills test.

Louisiana Intermediate License Restrictions

If a student is under 17, the student may drive but with the following restrictions:

  1. From 11 PM to 5 AM :: Curfew law time (only while under 17, unless accompanied by a licensed 21yr old or licensed 18 yr old sibling)
  2. From 6 PM to 5 AM :: No more than one (1) non-family member under the age of 21 yrs old in the vehicle.
  3. Restrictions will be extended if the student has done any of the following in the past 12 months:
    • has show accident-free driving (except in cases where student is not at fault)
    • is convicted of a moving traffic violation
    • violates the seat belt law
    • violates the curfew law
    • violates any drug or alcohol laws
    • has license revoked or suspended for any reason

    Note: The DMV may expand the term of the intermediate license if necessary. Violation of laws would delay advancement to the next licensing level. Advancement is contingent on having a violation-free driving record.

If you have questions about the Louisiana Graduated Driver License, check out the Louisiana OMV website or call 225-925-6146.

 

 

 

REAL ID INFORMATION

Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles

Karen G. St. Germain, Commissioner

News Release - OMV Headquarters September 30, 2016

Louisiana OMV To Begin Issuing Real ID Compliant Credentials Baton Rouge - Beginning October 3, 2016, the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) will begin issuing REAL ID compliant driver's licenses and identification cards. On June 14, 2016, Governor John Bel Edwards signed into law SB 227 authored by Senator Yvonne Colomb and HB 702 authored by Representative Jimmy Harris and Representative Terry Landry giving Louisiana citizens the option to obtain a Real ID compliant credential.

"I am proud this option will now be available for those citizens who want to have one", stated Governor Edwards. "The goal of the REAL ID is to help safeguard against potential danger. This will help protect our family, friends and communities and reinforce our sense of public safety which we all value. Very soon, anyone who wants to take a commercial flight or enter a federal building where identification is required will have to present a REAL ID or produce two forms of identification, so I encourage Louisianans to make use of this new form of ID."

Although you will not need a Real ID compliant for air travel until October 1, 2020, offering the option now will give OMV 4 years to assist the customers requesting a Real ID compliant credential. Customers must present certain documents to verify their identity prior to being issued a Real ID compliant credential. The most common documents will be a certified copy of a birth certificate or an unexpired passport along with your social security card. Proof of Louisiana residency, such as a utility bill or phone bill, will also be required. OMV will retain a copy of your identity documents eliminating the need for you to provide them in the future. A complete list of acceptable documents can be found at www.expresslane.org.

OMV Commissioner Karen G. St. Germain stated, "We are extremely excited to provide this option to our Louisiana citizens. I want to make sure that our citizens know they are not required to obtain a Real ID compliant credential. However, the choice is now available to our customers."

"I am proud of the work done by OMV to provide this option to Louisiana citizens," said Colonel Mike Edmonson, Deputy Secretary-Public Safety. "Our priority remains ensuring the security and integrity of Louisiana's identification program."

For those who currently hold a valid driver's license or ID, there is NO need to immediately replace that credential to board a plane. You will be offered the option upon renewal or if you request a duplicate. All Louisiana OMV information about REAL ID will be posted at www.expresslane.org, as well as on social media forums. Citizens are also encouraged to take advantage of the OMV online services offered at www.expresslane.org.

Contact Information:

Karen G. St. Germain, Commissioner

Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles

Office: (225) 925-6281